Is Domino’s Pizza Halal? – Answered!

Published Categorized as Journal Tagged

Domino’s is one of the most popular pizza places in the entire world. While many can waltz into the pizza store to pick and choose their toppings, some of us are limited due to our religious beliefs preventing us from consuming certain foods. When it comes to Dominos, many Muslims are unsure whether the famous pizza place is halal or not. Muslims around the world must avoid non-halal foods such as pork, or any type of meat that hasn’t been slaughtered in the Islamic way. If you’re wondering whether Domino’s pizza is halal, then look no further, for your questions are answered below!

Is Domino’s Pizza Halal? – Answered!

Table of Contents

What Does Halal Mean?

Halal is an Arabic term that translates to “permissible” in English. Halal food is the Islamic dietary standard as stated in the Quran. The word refers to what Muslims are allowed to do in their lives, especially when it comes to eating and drinking.

Hey there! This site is reader-supported and I earn commissions if you purchase products from retailers after clicking on a link from this site.

For instance, certain types of meat are considered haram (unlawful), unless they have been halal slaughtered according to the Islamic way. However, this does not apply to haram meats like pork.

Is Domino’s Halal?

Dominos does not have a halal menu. However, most of their chicken is sourced from suppliers in Thailand, where the meat is halal certified by religious authorities. This does not apply to their chicken wings, which are sourced by suppliers from Europe, most of which are not halal-approved.

The pizzas cannot be classed as halal, however, even with the possibility of halal chicken. This is due to inevitable cross-contamination.

Is Dominos Pizza Halal in the UK

No. While the Dominos pizza food chain in the UK permits stunned chicken, which is typically considered halal, all other meats are not considered halal. Although if Muslim customers really wanted to eat at Domino’s, they may have to settle for veggie toppings.

Is Dominos Pizza Halal in the USA?

Similar to Domino’s Pizza UK, in the US the chicken is also stunned, while the rest of the meats used are not halal.

Is Domino’s Pizza Halal? – Answered!

Is Domino’s Cheese Pizza Halal?

The cheese used in Domino’s pizza is halal. But when it is placed amongst other ingredients used for making pizza it can potentially become cross-contaminated with haram toppings (like ham and pepperoni). Therefore, this makes the cheese pizza haram.

When gloved hands that have just touched ham and pepperoni for a non-halal pizza reach over to grab some cheese, that is what makes the cheese contaminated. If the gloves were changed whilst attempting to make a cheese pizza, the cheese will not be considered halal, as it had still been touched by the contaminated gloves. This makes the cheese unsuitable for a halal pizza.

Unless you plan to get your Dominos pizza from a Muslim country that requires halal meat products and where the cheese will never be contaminated, there’s no telling whether Domino’s cheese pizza in the UK or US is completely halal or not.

Is Dominos Pepperoni Halal?

No. Domino’s pepperoni is not halal. Pepperoni is often obtained from pigs, which are automatically considered haram. There’s no questioning whether pepperoni is halal or haram, unless it was replaced with another type of meat i.e., chicken or turkey.

There have been various attempts to get 100% halal certification from Domino’s UK, where the ingredients include bacon or ham. At one point the ingredients for pepperoni had been replaced with halal beef sausage or roasted tandoori chicken, while the pepperoni was made with cured turkey.

However, Domino’s have claimed that they do not have any halal stores anymore. Unfortunately, this is due to the poor sales they experienced after creating a halal-only menu. Domino’s have further claimed that their chicken is stunned, while the rest of the meat used is not halal.

Is Dominos Chicken Halal?

Domino’s chicken may or may not be halal depending on where you’re buying from. Since Domino’s majorly sources its chicken from its Thailand-based supplier where the chicken is halal certified, some may argue that Domino’s chicken is halal.

However, one of the common factors for hesitation is the risk of cross-contamination, especially when reaching for a variety of ingredients, like pepperoni, chicken, or ham.

What Makes Dominos Halal or Haram?

Domino’s pizza can be halal or haram depending on the ingredients. While Domino’s doesn’t consider itself a halal company, you could argue that the cheese, pizza dough, and tomato sauce are halal, as well as the chicken, which is supplied from Thailand and halal slaughtered.

Apart from this, there is the fear of cross-contamination, because of course Domino’s will also have haram ingredients such as pepperoni, ham, or beef, which isn’t considered halal according to Muslim law. This is mainly due to the way the animals were slaughtered beforehand. Therefore, we cannot attest that Domino’s is completely halal.

Does Dominos Have a Halal-Only Menu?

While Domino’s stores no longer have a halal menu Domino reassures their customers that all of their chicken apart from their chicken wings is halal slaughtered. Domino’s pizza was once amongst the first fast food outlets in the UK to serve a halal menu but has had to backtrack and ditch the menu after poor sales.

Is Dominos Vegetarian Pizza Halal?

The cheese used is vegetarian and therefore halal, however, the cheese is at risk of being contaminated due to the constant switch between each ingredient for pizza toppings, i.e., pepperoni, ham, and beef being touched and then the cheese being picked up and added to the mix. Since the cheese was touched by meat-clad gloves, this means the cheese was contaminated, and no longer suitable for a Muslim to eat.

Is Domino’s Pizza Suitable for Vegetarians?

Yes. Domino’s claims that all of the cheese used in their pizzas is made from vegetarian rennet and is suitable for vegetarians. The vegan Margherita and vegan supreme pizzas are made with vegan dough and a vegan cheese alternative is available in all stores.

Is Domino’s Pizza Halal? – Answered!

Dominos Vegan Alternatives USA

Currently, US Domino’s stores don’t offer vegan meat or cheese. But don’t be disheartened by this, as you can easily create your own vegan pizza.

Just remember to skip the cheese when placing your order, and some of the vegan options are outlined below:

Vegan Pizza

For a vegan pizza choose the thin crust, and top this with regular tomato sauce, barbecue sauce, and whatever vegetable you fancy. Vegetable toppings include baby spinach, banana peppers, onions, garlic, mushrooms, olives, roasted red peppers, pineapple, and tomatoes.

Vegan Penne

While the penne itself is vegan, the marinara sauce it comes with contains dairy. Simply order the penne without the sauce and top it with a variety of veggies to suit your taste.

Garden Salad

This classic salad can be made vegan if you order it without croutons and cheese. Vegan dressings include Kraft Catalina, Ken’s Golden Italian, Ken’s Lite Balsamic with Olive Oil Vinaigrette, and Marzetti Golden Italian. Of course, you can customize this salad however you like, with your choice of deliciously refreshing veggies to suit your taste.

Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich

The bread for this sandwich is vegan.

Simply order this without the cheese, and indulge in the delicious roasted peppers, diced tomatoes, spinach, and punchy onions.

Dipping Sauces

The garlic sauce, hot buffalo, and Italian dipping sauces are all vegan.

Dominos Vegan Alternatives UK

There was a time when Domino’s UK didn’t offer vegan pizza crust options, but fortunately, times have changed! Currently, vegan pizzas are available at 1,200 Domino’s stores across the UK. They feature their very own dairy-free cheese made from coconut oil!

Vegan Margherita

The classic Margherita features a delicious tomato sauce base, with a dairy-free sauce drizzled atop a golden dough crust.

The Vegan Vegi Supreme

This scrumptious vegan pizza is topped with mushrooms, sweetcorn, onions, green peppers, and red peppers.

Create Your Own

You can also create your own vegan pizza at Dominos! Ensure that you order the vegan crust, as the regular base contains milk.

Sides

The potato wedges and Fajita potato wedges are vegan.

Dips

Domino’s UK has a dairy-free version of the garlic and herb dip. You can also choose from tomato, bbq, sweet chili, tangy salsa, sun-dried tomato, garlic sauces, French mustard, and Frank’s cayenne pepper sauce.

Is Dominos Vegan Halal?

Since the vegan selection will not be cross-contaminated, Muslims can choose to order a vegan Margherita or Vegan Vegi Supreme from Dominos.

The ingredients are plant-based and therefore halal.

Is Pizza Halal?

Pizza is a popular dish with a variety of toppings, some of which can be halal, whilst others aren’t. Vegetable toppings are halal unless they have been cross-contaminated with certain meats such as pork, or non-halal meats. Some of the traditional meat toppings for pizza (such as pepperoni) are not halal and should not be added to a halal pizza.

Can Vegetarians Eat Margherita Pizza?

No. A traditional Margherita pizza would not be considered a vegan dish, as mozzarella is not a vegan ingredient.

As a vegan, you can eat whatever you like as long as the ingredients are plant-based. There are only three toppings on a Margherita pizza and these include fresh tomatoes, fresh basil, and fresh mozzarella. While the tomatoes and basil are certainly vegan, the mozzarella cheese is what makes the entire pizza non-vegan. This is because mozzarella cheese is obtained from the rich milk of buffalos.

So Is Domino’s Pizza Halal?

Apart from their certified halal chicken, Domino’s pizza isn’t halal whatsoever. This is due to the unavoidable cross-contamination between non-halal meats and halal ingredients.

FAQs

Is Pork Used in Dominos?

Yes, unfortunately, Domino’s pepperoni pizza is made with pork only.

Is Domino’s Pizza Suitable For Vegetarians?

While all Domino’s pizza isn’t suitable for vegetarians, the cheese used for the pizza is made with vegetarian rennet and is suitable for vegetarians.

Is Domino’s Pizza Kosher?

No. While there are kosher pizza restaurants, Domino’s pizza isn’t one of them.

Can Dominos Be Halal?

While Dominos doesn’t provide halal-approved meat pizzas, most of their chicken is sourced from suppliers in Thailand which is halal-certified.

Is Pizza Haram or Halal?

Pizza can be both haram or halal, depending on the ingredients used. Pizza is a dish with a range of toppings, some of which can be halal or haram. Vegetables are always halal unless they have been cross-contaminated. Some of the meat toppings for pizza like pepperoni are not halal, and must not be included on a halal pizza.

Is Dominos Halal in Pakistan?

Yes, since Pakistan is a Muslim country, with the majority of people following a strict halal diet, Dominos is halal-certified.

Is Dominos Halal in India?

While India does not promote Dominos as halal-certified, their meat is sourced from halal suppliers in Thailand, which is certified halal.

By Anna

Anna Brooks, the voice behind CooksDream.com, is a seasoned writer and editor with an insatiable love for food. While not a professional chef, her culinary adventures and unique insights have captivated readers for years. Anna believes in the transformative power of food, stating it "feeds the soul." Dive into her writings for a mix of inspiration, entertainment, and culinary wisdom. Author Pinterest Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Tumblr Reddit Quora

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *